Now playing 27.04.14

Yujen – Try It Over

Yes, that is Chet Faker you hear.

 

Lana Del Rey –  West Coast (Dan Auerbach Mix)

I’m really liking the gritty rock & roll stance Ms Del Rey is beginning to take. I know that she got shunned by the Indie scene when she attempted it before she went all pop on us, but now she’s got her status and is showing that she can do whatever the fuck she wants with it whilst keeping her sexy, botoxed voice alive. The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach’s remix adds a nice electronic flavour to the track too.

 

Jamie XX – Girl

Jamie XX is making it near to impossible for us to listen to his music, unless we buy it of course. It’s clever, though I was furious when Hypetrack posted this track first. But it wasn’t given to them, they didn’t get it from his page – they’d found it on some random user’s page, just as I have here (that one got deleted). I get it though, I do. Young Turks gave Thisissongkick ‘Sleep Sound’ and I’m pretty sure it meant that no one bought it when they released the single a week later. Either way, he just keeps coming out with such beautifully mixed tracks. What I like is that he has kept remnants of his production with the XX in his pieces, the notable guitar twangs and eeriness is what tells his new music apart from all other electronic and it’s utter ecstasy. Rough Trade say that there is an album coming out on the 5th May so we wait and see.

 

Lykke Li – No Rest For The Wicked (Ft A$AP Rocky)

I’ve been waiting a long time for Lykke Li to release more music. I remember discovering her when iTunes gave out a free song every week, this was ‘I’m Good, I’m Gone’ and a VERY long time ago. Since then, I discovered Mapei and that these two were flatmates! Yes, Lykke Li doesn’t sound as edgy as she used to but I’m putting it down to her trying to gain a new platform – collaborating with A$AP Rocky has definitely helped and this track is on point. His lyrics are somewhat to be desired, ‘tell her read between the lines like a bar code, get it?’ Yes, A$AP, we get it and we think that you need to brush up on your metaphors because that is POOR. Either way, it’s a delicate and heartwarming song, definitely worth a listen. I recommend you listen to this version first, just to laugh at A$AP’s lyrics, then just listen to the original or newly released today, Joris Voorn’s remix.

 

Lorde – Tennis Court (Flume remix)

We all know that Lorde and Flume are best buds, so it isn’t at all surprising that they’ve collaborated at last. This track isn’t too special but Flume’s production does emphasise some of Lorde’s wicked lyrics such as, ‘It’s a new art form showing people how little we care, yeah’ which I do think this generation has learnt and is still mastering, so kudos to her.

 

Baths – Ocean Death

I haven’t listened to Baths since his album ‘Cerulean’ but this came up on my stream and I was highly impressed. It is dark – with the sound of dripping water throughout, it’s not a track you’d want to end up listening to on a bad trip but it does have a lot of depth and is so different from everything else I’ve heard. Will Wiesenfeld’s token male high-pitched singing lifts the mood slightly about half-way through, although this could be interpreted as making the song even more scary, with what sounds like he’s saying, ‘bury your body in my graveyard’ on repeat. It’s interesting and I’ve had it on repeat since first hearing it.

Leave a comment