So this happened…

Yesterday afternoon, Banks posted a photo on Instagram of a weird looking wooden box, telling her fans to go to Rough Trade to have a look. Flabbergasted, I rushed to Brick Lane to see what all the fuss was about and here it is…

Banks - Goddess What looks like a tribal tambourine is in fact the first release of Banks’ latest track ‘Goddess’ produced by best bud Lil Silva. For those who follow my blog, you’ll know that when she played this song at Koko last month, I became in awe of her even more than before. Weirdly enough, I seem to be the only person in London excited by this phenomenon. Having rushed to Rough Trade after work, expecting a queue that wrapped around the Truman Brewery (and again), I was shocked to hear that the guy who showed me where it was, admitted that he hadn’t listened to it himself. Yes, I think it’s fair to say, I have become some what, a groupie.

I plugged my headphones in, and listened to the track once but was a little disappointed to discover that it was only the one song – I thought she may have given hardcore fans such as myself the privilege of hearing a little more of her upcoming album that will be released in September (click the link to pre-order).

Either way, it was an experience, and a nice one at that. Here’s Goddess that was first aired on BBC 1Xtra last night, enjoy.

Leave a comment